Pallet EPAL description

The pallet Europe or Euro EPAL, in the past called euro pallets, is a wooden pallet with four entries which answers the regulations of UIC 435-2-0 (for manufacture) and 435-4-OR (for repair) notes and the "technical Regulation" of EPAL. It also answers to the Assurance Qualité Ferroviaire AQF 335 norms.

EUR / EPAL pallet

EUR mark

The EUR mark is the property of the operating company Austrian railway network ÖBB (Österreichische Bundesbahn). This mark was the subject of an Austrian deposit (N°85513 of the 20/01/1977 and 11/05/1977) and of an international deposit (N°430-337 of the 11/05/1977) at the OMPI. At the end of a convention in September 12, 1995 and March 1, 1996, ÖBB conceded with the SNCF the exclusive right of use of the EUR mark in France.

EPAL mark

EPAL Mark is the property of the association of the same name based in Hagen, Germany. It was the subject of a German deposit (N° 2054520 of the 17/10/1992 and 18/01/1994), of an international deposit (N° 617158 of the 16/03/1994) at the OMPI as well as a Community deposit (N° 000472415 of the 5/02/1997) at the OHMI.


palette eur - epal ou euro palette
EPAL pallet

The EURO EPAL pallet was designed to carry out several rotations and to thus contribute to the reduction of waste of industrial packing. It can be repaired and integrates the file of recycling at the end of its lifetime.

dé palette eur - epal In order to be easily identifiable but also to avoid the counterfeits, EUR/EPAL pallets comprise various markings on the intermediate elements (dice): EUR logo, EPAL logo for the pallets manufactured after 1995, initials of railroad company (the SNCF for France, dB for Germany,.) and possibly logo of manufacturing, the latter like the repairers of EURO EPAL pallets have to have the approval for manufacture or repair as well as the right of use of the protected marks.


sigle eur - epal

In the same way, a reconditioned EPAL pallet will have to be repaired with stamped nails EPAL and will be easily identifiable by staples, a plate or a nail posed by the repairer.

agrafe epal  clou epal
Fastening and nailing of reconditioned EPAL pallet

Dimension of 1200x800mm and a weight of approximately 30 kg, a EURO pallet EPAL support a dynamic head ranging between 1000 and 1400 kg. The wood essence used for their manufacture is mainly the pine and the poplar.

Three million new EURO EPAL pallets were manufactured in 1997, more than 36 million in 2002 (source EPAL). Food industry is the largest consumer of this type of pallets.

handling pallets

Présentation du standard EPAL de la palette de manutention

La palette Europe ou EUR EPAL, anciennement appelée euro palette, est une palette en bois à quatre entrées qui répond aux prescriptions des fiches UIC 435-2-0 (pour la fabrication) et 435-4-OR (pour la réparation) et à la "Règlementation technique" de l'EPAL. Elle répond également aux normes Assurance Qualité Ferroviaire AQF 335. Cette charte qualité a permis à la palette Europe de devenir incontournable dans la chaîne logistique de manutention et de transport de marchandises.

La palette EUR / EPAL

Marque EUR

La marque EUR est la propriété de la compagnie exploitant le réseau de chemins de fer autrichien ÖBB (Österreichische Bundesbahn). Cette marque a fait l'objet d'un dépôt autrichien (N°85513 du 20/01/1977 et 11/05/1977) et d'un dépôt international (N°430-337 du 11/05/1977) auprès de l'OMPI. Au terme d'une convention des 12 septembre 1995 et 1er mars 1996, les ÖBB on concédé à la SNCF le droit exclusif d'utilisation de la marque EUR en France.

Marque EPAL

La marque EPAL est la propriété de l'association du même nom basé à Hagen, Allemagne. Elle a fait l'objet d'un dépôt allemand (N° 2054520 du 17/10/1992 et 18/01/1994), d'un dépôt international (N° 617158 du 16/03/1994) auprès de l'OMPI ainsi que d'un dépôt communautaire (N° 000472415 du 5/02/1997) auprès de l'OHMI.


palette eur - epal ou euro palette
Palette Europe EPAL

La palette EUR EPAL a été conçue pour effectuer plusieurs rotations et contribuer ainsi à la réduction des déchets d'emballages industriels. Elle peut être réparée et intègre la fillière du recyclage en fin de vie.

dé palette eur - epal Afin d'être facilement identifiables mais aussi d'éviter les contre-façons, les palettes EUR/EPAL comportent différents marquages sur les éléments intermédiaires (dés) : logo EUR, logo EPAL pour les palettes fabriquées après 1995, sigle de compagnie de chemin de fer (SNCF pour la France, DB pour l'Allemagne, ...) et éventuellement logo du fabriquant, ces derniers comme les réparateurs de palettes EUR EPAL devant posséder l'agrément pour la fabrication ou la réparation ainsi que le droit d'utilisation des marques protégées.


sigle eur - epal

De même, une palette EPAL reconditionnée devra être réparée avec des clous estampillés EPAL et sera facilement identifiable par une agrafe, une plaque ou un clou posé par le réparateur.

agrafe epal  clou epal
Agrafe et clou de palette EPAL reconditionnée

De dimension 1200x800mm et d'un poids d'environ 30 kg, une palette EUR EPAL supporte une charge dynamique comprise entre 1000 et 1400 kg. Les essences de bois utilisées pour leur fabrication sont principalement le pin et le peuplier.

Trois millions de palettes EUR EPAL neuves ont été fabriquées en 1997, plus de 36 millions en 2002 (source EPAL). L'industrie alimentaire est la plus grosse consommatrice de ce type de palettes.

palettes de manutention